This page provides a list of academics who have already offered projects within the EPSRC-MRC SABS CDT programme. It is not an exclusive list. Any academic at Oxford can potentially act as a supervisor as long as the research project is sponsored by one of our industrial partners and falls in remit. If you have any questions about supervisory arrangements please contact us.

Name Department Co-sponsors
Achillefs Kapanidis Physics Chelsea Technologies Group
Alex Bullock Structural Genomics Consortium Pfizer
Andrew Price NDORMS Pfizer
Andrew Turberfield Physics Microsoft
Andrew Carr NDORMS Pfizer
Angela Russell Chemistry InhibOx, Structural Genomics Consortium
Ben Davis Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline, UCB
Blanca Rodriguez Computing Laboratory AstraZeneca
Brian Marsden Structural Genomics Consortium Roche, GlaxoSmithKline
Catrine Johansson NDORMS / Structural Genomics Consortium GlaxoSmithKline (EpiNova), GlaxoSmithKline, Structural Genomics Consortium, Pfizer
Charlotte Deane Statistics Evotec, Roche, UCB, InhibOx, E-Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline
Chas Bountra Structural Genomics Consortium Structural Genomics Consortium
Chris Holmes Statistics Roche
Chris Schofield Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, Structural Genomics Consortium, AstraZeneca, Lilly UK
Christopher Ponting DPAG GlaxoSmithKline, Structural Genomics Consortium
Damian Tyler DPAG PulseTeq, AstraZeneca
David Gavaghan Computing Laboratory AstraZeneca, Microsoft, GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer
Eamonn Gaffney Mathematics AstraZeneca, Roche
Elizabeth Leicht Said E-Therapeutics
Emily Flashman Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline
Felix Reed-Tsochas Said E-Therapeutics
Francis Szele DPAG Silver Creek Pharmaceuticals
Frank von Delft Structural Genomics Consortium Diamond Light Source, Structural Genomics Consortium, GlaxoSmithKline, Novartis
Panagis Filippakopoulos Engineering
Gary Mirams Computer Science AstraZeneca, Microsoft, GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer
Gesine Reinert Statistics E-Therapeutics
Hagan Bayley Chemistry Pfizer
Helen Byrne Mathematics AstraZeneca, Roche
James Dunford NDORMS GlaxoSmithKline, Structural Genomics Consortium
James Edwards NDORMS Structural Genomics Consortium
John Vakonakis Biochemistry Microsoft
Julia Schnabel Engineering GlaxoSmithKline
Liz Carpenter Structural Genomics Consortium GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, Pfizer (Neusentis)
Mark Moloney Chemistry UCB
Mark Sansom Biochemistry Novartis, Pfizer, Roche, UCB
Mark Wallace Chemistry Pfizer
Martin Smith Chemistry Structural Genomics Consortium
Michael Osborne Engineering Novartis
Mike Giles Mathematics InhibOx, Roche
Nicola Burgess Brown Nuffield Department of Medicine Structural Genomics Consortium, Diamond Light Source
Nick Kruger Plant Sciences Chelsea Technologies Group
Paul Brennan Structural Genomics Consortium Diamond Light Source, Pfizer, Roche, GlaxoSmithKline
Peter Minary Computer Science Roche
Peter Robbins DPAG
Phil Biggin Biochemistry Evotec, InhibOx, UCB
Philip Maini Mathematics Moffitt Cancer Centre, Roche
Philippa Hulley NDORMS Pfizer
Richard Cooper Chemistry InhibOx
Richard Wade-Martins Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics E-Theraputics
Rob Paton Chemistry UCB
Stefan Knapp Structural Genomics Consortium Evotec, Novartis
Stephen Tucker Physics Pfizer, Pfizer (Neusentis)
Steve Roberts Engineering Novartis
Stuart Conway Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, InhibOx
Timothy Donohoe Chemistry UCB
Timothy Humphrey Gray Institute for Radiaton Oncology and Biology Diamond Light Source
Udo Oppermann NDORMS / Structural Genomics Consortium GlaxoSmithKline (EpiNova), GlaxoSmithKline, Structural Genomics Consortium, Pfizer
Veronique Gouverneur Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline, Siemens, General Electric
Vicente Grau Engineering General Electric
Benedikt Kessler  Nuffield Department of Medicine
Jon Chapman  Mathematical Institute
Harry Anderson  Department of Chemistry
Wyatt Yue  SGC
Mason Porter  Mathematical Institute

Potential Secondary Supervisors

Name Department Co-sponsors
Akane Kawamura Chemistry GlaxoSmithKline
David Parker Computer Science Microsoft
Elizabeth Leicht Said E-Therapeutics
Bernhard Knapp Department of Statistics, Protein Informatics
Jonathan Cooper Computer Science Microsoft, Roche
Raewyn Poulsen NDORMS Pfizer